Augusta National Women’s Amateur field taking shape | 2022 Masters Skip to main content
Breaking news
2 Rory McIlroy   -7 F
T3 Cameron Smith   -5 F
T3 Shane Lowry   -5 F
    Full Leaderboard
Posted January 21, 2020, 11:01 am

Augusta National Women’s Amateur field taking shape

  • Article Photos
    Photos description

    (Augusta National Golf Club)

Sixty-five female golfers have committed to play in the second annual Augusta National Women’s Amateur, scheduled for April 1-4.

Photos: 2019 Augusta National Women's Amateur Ceremonial Tee Shots

Invitations were sent to 72 players earlier this month, according to a news release from Augusta National Golf Club.

“It is with great excitement that we have begun the process of assembling the field for the 2020 Augusta National Women’s Amateur,” said Fred Ridley, Chairman of Augusta National Golf Club and the Masters Tournament. “An invitation to this championship represents another impressive achievement for the top players in the women’s amateur game. We look forward to welcoming the field to Augusta in April and remain steadfast in our belief that this event – highlighted by these talented players – will impact and grow interest in the sport in a meaningful way.”

Invitations were sent to winners of major women’s amateur golf tournaments and top players based on the World Amateur Golf Ranking at the end of the 2019 calendar year. The field’s remaining spots will be filled by special invitation from the ANWA Championship Committee.

Photos: 2019 Augusta National Women's Amateur Final Round

On Wednesday, April 1 and Thursday, April 2, the field will play 36 holes on the Island and Bluff nines at Champions Retreat Golf Club, after which a cut to 30 players will take place.

The entire field will play an official practice round at Augusta National on Friday, April 3. The final round will take place Saturday, April 4 with the players who made the cut playing 18 holes at Augusta National.

Jennifer Kupcho, who now competes on the LPGA Tour, won the inaugural championship in 2019.

NBC Sports will broadcast three hours of live, final-round coverage from noon until 3 p.m.

Tickets are sold out and no tickets will be available at the gates.

Augusta Women’s National Amateur field as of Jan. 21:

Hanna Alberto, Kingwood, Texas (8)

Zoe Campos, West Hills, Calif. (8)

Abbey Carlson, Lake Mary, Fla. (8)

Hailee Cooper, Montgomery, Texas (8)

Allisen Corpuz, Honolulu, Hawaii (8)

Amanda Doherty, Atlanta, Ga. (8)

Caterina Don, Turin, Italy (9)

Isabella Fierro, Merida, Mexico (#)

Karen Fredgaard, Asserbo, Denmark (9)

Annabell Fuller, London, England (9)

Mariel Galdiano, Pearl City, Hawaii (8)

Megha Ganne, Holmdel, N.J. (#)

Sofia Garcia, Asuncion, Paraguay (9)

Amelia Garvey, Christchurch, New Zealand (9)

Allyson Geer-Park, Brighton, Mich. (8)

Linn Grant, Helsingborg, Sweden (9)

Lauren Hartlage, Elizabethtown, Ky. (8)

Rachel Heck, Memphis, Tenn. (8)

Paris Hilinski, La Quinta, Calif. (#)

Emilee Hoffman, Sacramento, Calif. (8)

Isabella Holpfer, Olbendorf, Austria (9)

Yu-Chiang Hou, Chinese Taipei (9)

Yu-Sang Hou, Chinese Taipei (9)

Lily May Humphreys, Sudbury, England (9)

Julia Johnson, St. Gabriel, La. (8)

Tsubasa Kajitani, Okayana, Japan (9)

Gurleen Kaur, Houston, Texas (8)

Auston Kim, St. Augustine, Fla. (8)

Gina Kim, Chapel Hill, N.C. (8)

Grace Kim, New South Wales, Australia (#)

Paula Kirner, Lorsch, Germany (9)

Ingrid Lindblad, Halmstad, Sweden (9)

Siyun Liu, Shanghai, China (#)

Clarisse Louis, Brussels, Belgium (9)

Candice Mahe, Gourin, France (9)

Lucie Malchirand, Carnoux, France (9)

Olivia Mehaffey, Banbridge, Northern Ireland (9)

Alexa Melton, Covina, Calif. (8)

Emilia Migliaccio, Raleigh, N.C. (8)

Michaela Morard, Hunstville, Ala. (8)

Benedetta Moresco, Caldogno, Italy (9)

Malia Nam, Kailua, Hawaii (8)

Brianna Navarrosa, San Diego, Calif. (#)

Alessia Nobilio, Milan, Italy (9)

Tristyn Nowlin, Richmond, Ky. (8)

Emilie Paltinieri, Milan, Italy (9)

Alexa Pano, Lake Worth, Fla. (8)

Pimnipa Panthong, Nakhon Sawan, Thailand (9)

Brooke Riley, Manteca, Calif. (8)

Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, Carqueiranne, France (9)

Amanda Sambach, Davidson, N.C. (8)

Megan Schofill, Monticello, Fla. (8)

Aneka Seumanutafa, Emmitsburg, Md. (8)

Erica Shepherd, Greenwood, Ind. (8)

Ellie Slama, Salem, Ore. (8)

Emma Spitz, Goellersdorf, Austria (9)

Natalie Srinivasan, Spartanburg, S.C. (8)

Maja Stark, Abbekas, Sweden (9)

Karoline Stormo, Tvedestrand, Norway (9)

Kaleigh Telfer, Kyalami, South Africa (#)

Emily Toy, Cornwall, England (3)

Isobel Wardle, Alderley Edge, England (9)

Kenzie Wright, McKinney, Texas (8)

Chia Yen Wu, Chinese Taipei (9)

Agustina Zeballos, Buenos Aires, Argentina (9)

Qualifications for Invitation to the Augusta National Women’s Amateur

1. Winner of the Augusta National Women’s Amateur (Five years, beginning in 2021)

2. Winner of the U.S. Women’s Amateur (One year)

3. Winner of the Ladies’ British Open Amateur Championship (One year)

4. Winner of the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific (One year)

5. Winner of the U.S. Girls’ Junior (One year)

6. Winner of the Girls’ British Open Amateur Championship (One year)

7. Winner of the Girls Junior PGA Championship (One year)

8. The top 30 players from the United States of America who are not otherwise qualified, based on the final 2019 Women’s World Amateur Golf Ranking.

9. After the previous qualifications, the 30 highest ranked players not otherwise qualified, based on the final 2019 Women’s World Amateur Golf Ranking.

# Remaining positions will be filled by invitation of the Augusta National Women’s Amateur Championship Committee.